ADVERTISEMENT

Debate: Financial Pain - Putin's to Blame

UCFloridaTech

Bronze Knight
Nov 10, 2009
Charlotte
There is no question that Vladimir Putin is principally responsible for the intense financial pain the American people and their families are bearing.

Who agrees?
Who disagrees?

There is no question that Vladimir Putin is principally responsible for the intense financial pain the American people and their families are bearing.

Who agrees?
Who disagrees?
Agreed. The Ukraine vs Russia war has increased oil prices which has trickled down to EVERYTHING ELSE. It’s a completely unnecessary conflict and our preparation/response to it has been mediocre at best. Additionally, the post-COVID recovery period has compounded the problem.

I'm no financial expert but my gut tells me that giving away a bunch of money to Americans -- no matter how well-intentioned -- along with the Fed being asleep-at-the-wheel have led to this rise in inflation.

There's also no question that world events sure as hell haven't helped the situation either. It was like throwing gasoline on the fire that was already starting to burn.

I was watching The Lion King with my son last night and it came to that part when everything was going great and the pride lands were booming under Mufasa but then Scar stole the throne and turned the pride lands into a wasteland and everyone was poor and miserable. Good thing that can never happen IRL.

Maybe continuing stimulus at full employment, child credits, student debt "forgiveness", and low rates were a bad idea? And now being responsible for millions more illegal aliens too. We are about to sink into a major recession unless we change course quickly. They need a history lesson on how Reagan fixed Carters out of control inflation.

Just maybe having an energy policy would help too?

Reactions: UCFloridaTech