ADVERTISEMENT

MBA and Salary

Xa1n

Four-Star Recruit
May 19, 2008
Hi, I usually only post around football season, however I am on the board throughout the year.

I saw a job posting today which prompted me to ask this question, and get an opinion of the board.

I graduated from UCF a few years ago and just finished my Professional MBA from UCF last year.

I am 30, and I feel like Career wise I am not where I expected to be by now. I am in Financial Services/Operations, and I feel like the growth has been stagnant, and even after an MBA I don't see it making any significant difference.

I am very driven, but this has somewhat discouraged me, and have me thinking about changing industries, because where I am for me to even get close to a 100k it may take a decade or even more.

I know that MBA does not hold a great value like it used to, but I wanted to see if others felt the same way, or from maybe someone who's had experience with this situation can shed some light on it.

Thanks, looking for hearing some thoughts on this, and the job market as a whole.

Be very aware of and focus on the perceptions of the leadership team. It's extremely important for growth. I say this without knowing anything because it applies to everything.

Other than that, I'd really need to get a better understanding of who you are and what you've accomplished and where you are growth wise. If you don't have a mentor, get one. I inherited one accidently in 2008, but since then, my career took off. I was getting significant raises while the company was doing lay offs thanks to him.

And, remember, no one is going to give you anything. You need to first ask for then fight for it all.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

MBA is good to get your foot in the door /open doors but after that it will all be on your job performance/etc....getting an MBA is unlikely to "get you a raise"
Volunteer for Ad Hoc projects, take on extra work, etc....Learn as many areas of your business as possible (cross train/etc)