ADVERTISEMENT

New to Forum - possible new coaches

OU2SpaceCoast

High School Harry
Jan 2, 2020
I have been visiting this site on and off for last three years. I am a graduate of the University of Oklahoma, and moved to Florida's space coast in 2016 to pursue a new career opportunity. I attended OU from 1999-2005. I first started to pay attention to UCF under Frost, as I have a few coworkers who are UCF alumns & have attended 4 games over the past 3 years with a couple of these coworkers. During my time at OU I made a very good friend who happens to also be very good friends with Josh Huepel (as well as recently departed Jon Cooper & Jeff Lebby). I have met Josh on quite a few occasions, and though he probably wouldn't recognize or remember me, I have followed UCF closer since he was hired as some of my best memories are from his 2000 National Championship season.

Over the holidays my friend did mention a few names that Coach Huepel has at least had conversations with regarding coaching vacancies. He is sure there are others Huepel has spoken with & he doesn't have any details as to how serious or advanced the conversations with these individuals are Or exact position they were being contacted for. A few of these names I am familiar with & many I am not. Here are names mentioned:

Brody Eldredge (former Sooner C/TE, played in NFL)
possibility of promotion for Joey Halzle (currently on staff at UCF)
Cleo Lemon
Steve Spurrier, JR
Chase Holbrook
JaMarcus Shepard
Willie Simmons

Also as fate will have it, I will somewhat be joining the Knight family, as I will be completing my masters program through UCF online.

Forgot to add, feel free to give me crap about the Sooners and LSU (or in the CFB playoffs in general) we deserve it. And no I will not try to defend the Big 12 except to say that much like the AAC the Big 12 has seen an upgrade in coaching over last couple years. Hopefully that will lead to increase in overall talent & level of defensive play

Last edited: