ADVERTISEMENT

Trump cancels student debt for disabled vets

This sounds great (other than the obligatory "how do we pay for it?"). If my math is correct - and from the article you linked - this affects 25,000 veterans who owe $30,000 each. So, roughly $750,000,000.

I'm not an expert (or even a novice) in these matters, and there are many on here who have the experience, so my question is how does this differ from the G.I. Bill? Or, shouldn't these folks have qualified for the G.I. Bill in the first place? In other words, how does a service member wind up with student loan debt outside of the G.I. Bill? Is it that they went over the allowable max?

This sounds great (other than the obligatory "how do we pay for it?"). If my math is correct - and from the article you linked - this affects 25,000 veterans who owe $30,000 each. So, roughly $750,000,000.

I'm not an expert (or even a novice) in these matters, and there are many on here who have the experience, so my question is how does this differ from the G.I. Bill? Or, shouldn't these folks have qualified for the G.I. Bill in the first place? In other words, how does a service member wind up with student loan debt outside of the G.I. Bill? Is it that they went over the allowable max?
The G.I. BIll covers tuition and fees, a monthly housing allowance, and a $1000 stipend per year for books and supplies. I'm guessing that it may be harder for disabled vets to hold a job and go to school full time than a non-disabled person. So it makes sense that they may take out loans. Also, depending on disability, the vets may need to pay for other services to help them with school.

Of course, some of them probably took out loans because they could and not because they needed them. But I don't think many will be worried about sweeping them up in the net with the others.

https://www.military.com/education/...t=The Post-9/11 GI,use for books and supplies.