ADVERTISEMENT

Inshore fishing rods and reels

fabknight

Diamond Knight
Gold Member
Aug 15, 2007
I know a few of you are inshore anglers so I need some opinions on some rods and reels. My arsenal is getting a little old and worn so I'm wanting to replace some equipment but the prices on the stuff I like has gotten crazy expensive. In the past I've typically purchased St. Croix rods (Pearl and Mojo Inshore) and Shimano Stradic reels.

I've tried to go less expensive on the rods by going with Daiwa Pro series rods but they suck - sensitivity blows and the grips start to twist. I gotten the lower end Shimano reels but they aren't as smooth and wear more quickly. My older Stradics have lasted years (the newer ones don't seem as good.)

Any thoughts on what I might consider looking into?

Cheap ones from Walmart and replace yearly. You're not a professional.

Correct. I am not a professional but I hate cheap walmart crap and keep my rods and reels for years. Cheap walmart rods don't give you the strength and sensitivity you need to hook and bring in more fish and the reels break under load. Stop it, Bob.

Expensive tackle is no different Yeti, et al. IMO. Is it a little better? Sure, but is it worth it? $80 - $100 Penn rod and reel from Walmart are fine. The fish don't care if you spent 50 bucks or 500.

Reactions: Knight_Light
Expensive tackle is no different Yeti, et al. IMO. Is it a little better? Sure, but is it worth it? $80 - $100 Penn rod and reel from Walmart are fine. The fish don't care if you spent 50 bucks or 500.

Let me put it in terms your non-fishing ass can understand. If your hobby was racing rally cars, would you want to show up in a Chevy Citation or Ford Focus SRC. Why? Performance. The Chevy may get you to the end but won't do it well while the SRC will absolutely get you there and get you there well.

Cheap ones from Walmart and replace yearly. You're not a professional.