OT: Computer Programming Team

Psycho Jim

Bronze Knight
Oct 21, 2011
Once again the best in the country!
10th best in the world!
#ChargeOn
Drhrp0ZUwAAPvyC

Curious, am I the only programming team alum on here?
Best man at my wedding was another team alumnus as well -- a fellow UCF CECS graduate of the mid '90s. He was the 4.0 GPA student we all hated in classes.

You wouldn't believe how much people in the greater software engineering community -- from the Northeast (especially NYC) to the tech west -- know of UCF because of the ICPC. I've had about a half-dozen clients respond, after they either asked or noted from my CV that I'm a UCF CECS grad, "Good programming teams."

Of course, when they ask if I was on them, I just respond, "No, I graduated Summa Damn Lucky." Humility is always the best opt-out.

Reactions: SublimeKnight
Wasn't on the programming team, but I went 2x to the yearly high school programming competition at UCF in high school. Also went to the UF competition.

Both parents graduated from UF, I was accepted to UF honors program, and always thought UF was a lock. However, the competition was vastly more impressive at UCF. The setup, the flow of it (, and beauty of campus blew me away.) UF was kind of a run down dump to be honest. Played a major role in me going to UCF.

Kids on this team are no joke. Must practice for hours a day I would think. I know winners of high school competition get a full ride to UCF.

How much KGB money you think is flowing into them?
Not as much as the CIA pumps into our universities. It's always funny to see these stones thrown, when we've been much better at it than the Russians.

Yes, the Russians heavily interfere. They have for decades, and the US became a huge target for them again back in the mid '00s, along with the Ukranians (they've always been on the Czechs and Poles forever). But we do the same, and then some.