ADVERTISEMENT

Question for sysadmin and Network Admins

omg_jk

Silver Knight
Gold Member
Dec 4, 2008
Im currently a Systems Analyst at local hospital in Naples FL. I'm always looking to further my career but I'm at a block in terms of my training and experience. I have 6+ years of desktop support at Apple but don't have any formal training in networking or systems administration.

I know there is a lot of online training through Udemy, Lynda, and a plethora of others and there's also the in-class training from boot camps. But there is also a masters program at FIU I'm thinking about as well.

My question is if I'm looking for management positions in the future should I go with the more technical certifications or the MIS route?

If you are interested in staying in the system/network admin field, I'd look into AWS certification. Everything is going cloud/datacenter and Amazon has pretty much won the war.

If you are looking to get a degree, dont bother with a masters, just get a basic IT/MIS. No need to waste money and time on a degree that really wont help you that much more than a standard.

Piggybacking on this thread: IT seems to be more cert driven than degree driven. Is that still true? Perhaps look into a PMP cert for IT project management as well?

Piggybacking on this thread: IT seems to be more cert driven than degree driven. Is that still true? Perhaps look into a PMP cert for IT project management as well?

It does seems to be very cert driven. IT is a strange industry when it comes to the education.

I agree with the AWS training though.

It does seems to be very cert driven. IT is a strange industry when it comes to the education.

I agree with the AWS training though.
Interesting. I've been considering a pivot towards Cyber Security and doing some light studying on the side. I haven't committed 100% yet but I'm curious to hear from those in the industry how they see the landscape evolving.